Tags

, , , ,


Forty by Victoria Pickering on Flickr

I’ll be forty years old in August. The pull to evaluate my life so far has been very demanding on my mental capacities. I’m realizing how much I haven’t accomplished and how much I haven’t done. It is a heavy weight. A large boulder compressing my soul. The creative energy is squeezed out as I pile more and more things on the boulder.

Blogger Lili S.R. recently said,

Be a doer and you will dream no more.

This goes along with the phrase I use for a screensaver on my computer:

Stop thinking. Just do it.

There are many people in the world who are doers. They don’t stop to think about the ‘what if’s’: What if I fail? What if I succeed? What if it’s hard? No, doers do. They have an idea and they do it. I have several ideas I would like to work on, but making those ideas and dreams become reality has somehow eluded me. I don’t know if I have the wrong mind set to accomplish them or if I’m simply not destined for such things (I don’t believe the destined excuse, though it pops into my head from time to time).

I feel the need for a mentor. Someone who can take me under their wing. Someone who can hold me accountable to get things done and not procrastinate.

But how do I change my mindset? Have you been able to completely change your way of thinking to make your ideas and dreams come true? How did you do it? Leave your answers in the comments section below.

