Tags

, , ,


Today I received my first rejection letter for a poem I submitted to Asimov’s Science Fiction magazine.

AsimovRejection#1Needless to say I am disappointed it was not accepted, however I’m not as disappointed as I thought I would be. This may be due to not allowing myself to become too hopeful for an acceptance.

Sure, each time I checked my email I was anticipating to see an email from Asimov expounding upon how great a poem it was and how fortunate they were to be allowed the opportunity to publish my debut poem, but I made sure not to get my hopes up.

I believe the poem to be well written and it is a matter of finding the right publication to publish it. I sent it to Asimov first because it deals with space and humanities existence within the universe. Maybe it was too deep for them…yea, that’s why it isn’t right for them…

On to the next submission and another step along my journey.

