Tags

, , ,


Jose Bergamin - Bad Habits

Jose Bergamin

We all have them. They are annoying little trolls infiltrating our lives creating havoc and making us hate them more and more every time they arrive. They are our bad habits. What is a habit?

habit (Dictionary.com)

1.  an acquired behavior pattern regularly followed until it has become almost involuntary.

2.  customary practice or use.

3.  a particular practice, custom, or usage.

4.  a dominant or regular disposition or tendency; prevailing character quality.

5.  addiction, especially to narcotics (often preceded by the).

6.  mental character or disposition.

7.  characteristic bodily or physical condition.

A habit is not something that just comes to you. It is something learned overtime. I disagree with Jose Bergamin whom says all habits are bad because there are good habits such as looking both ways to cross a street, washing hands after using the bathroom, or saying “please” and “thank you”.

Though we may not determine to learn a bad habit such as smoking, cursing, or staying up late, bad habits do creep into our lives. What sucks about a habit is the fact that it is only after we have ingrained the habit into our lives do we finally see what has been happening. Then once we see the offending little troll the momentous task of breaking it can occur.

So what is my worst habit? Procrastination. My wife abhors my procrastination. I don’t like my procrastination, yet it is like I do not have control of it. I’ve created a pattern of believing I can wait until the last possible moment to get things done. Even though I may be able to get it done, I realize afterwards if I had taken the time provided to complete the task I could have produced something better and with less stress.

This is something I know I need to work through. It is one piece of a brick wall that needs to be knocked down so I can move on. Luckily, the wall is not tall though it is an obstacle in the way to bigger things. Keep on stepping.

What is your bad habit? Leave it in the comment section below…and don’t pick it backup.

